Skip to main content

PAPER PETITIONS – GUIDE FOR THE PUBLIC

Every petition begins as an idea and progresses through several stages on its way to being signed and presented in the House of Commons for response from the government. If you have an idea for a petition on a matter that is important to you, this guide will help you to get started and to navigate the process for submitting a paper petition.

What is a petition?

A petition is used to draw attention to an issue of public interest or concern and to request that the House of Commons, the Government of Canada, a Minister of the Crown, or a Member of the House of Commons take some action.

Petitioners cannot directly present a petition to the House of Commons; only a Member of Parliament is able to do so. In order to have his or her petition presented in the House, a petitioner must secure a Member’s assistance.

A petition must also meet certain requirements established by the rules and practices of the House. The Clerk of Petitions, a non-partisan House of Commons employee, holds the responsibility to certify that these requirements have been met.

This guide focuses on the process for creating and submitting paper petitions. For electronic petitions, please refer to the guide entitled Electronic Petitions – Guide to Creating and Submitting a Petition.

Creating a Paper Petition – Form and Content

A suggested template for paper petitions to the House of Commons that satisfy the requirements below is set out at the end of this guide (see Appendix A – Sample Template of an Acceptable Petition).

Addressee

A petition must be addressed to one of the following:

  • “the House of Commons” or “the House of Commons in Parliament assembled”;
  • “the Government of Canada”;
  • a Minister of the Crown; or
  • a Member of the House of Commons.

Text

The text of a petition is essentially a request, also called a “prayer”, that the addressee take or to avoid some concrete action in order to remedy a grievance.

A petition may include a detailed description of the grievance or a statement of opinion but these alone cannot be received as a petition; a concrete, specific request must be included, and the request must be clear and to the point, and phrased as a request, not as a demand.

If a petition is composed of more than one sheet of signatures and addresses, the prayer or subject-matter of the petition must be indicated on every sheet.

Subject of a Petition

Federal jurisdiction

A petition must concern a subject that is within the authority of the Parliament of Canada, the House of Commons, or the Government of Canada. A petition must not concern a purely provincial or municipal matter.

Sub judice

A petition may not concern a matter that is sub judice, i.e. currently before the courts.

Language

A petition must be respectful, use temperate language, and not contain improper or unparliamentary language. In particular, it should not contain disrespectful or offensive language with respect to the Crown, Parliament, or the courts. It may not include charges made against the character or conduct of Parliament, the courts, or any other duly-constituted authority. A petition must be written in either English or French.

Written, Typewritten or Printed on Paper of Usual Size

The text of a paper petition must be handwritten, typed, printed or photocopied on sheets of paper of usual size, i.e. measuring 21.5 cm x 28 cm (8.5 x 11 inches) or 21.5 cm x 35.5 cm (8.5 x 14 inches). A petition submitted on paper of irregular size, or on any other material, is not acceptable.

Erasures or Interlineations

The text of a petition must not be altered either by erasing or crossing out words or by adding words or commentary. Any alteration will make the petition unacceptable.

Attachments, Appendices, or Extraneous Material

A paper petition must be free of any other matter attached or appended to, or written or printed on, the petition, e.g. additional documents, maps, pictures, logos, news articles, explanatory or supporting statements, or requests for support. A petition printed on the reverse of another document is not acceptable.

Signatures and Addresses

A paper petition must contain a minimum of 25 valid signatures with addresses. The signatures of non citizens who are not resident in Canada are not counted. If you anticipate that your petition will circulate outside of Canada, please make sure that your signatories are aware that they may only sign if they are either residents of Canada or citizens residing abroad.

There is no minimum age requirement for anyone signing a petition.

A petition must contain original signatures written directly on the document and not pasted, taped, photocopied, or otherwise transferred to it.

Each petitioner must sign (not print) his or her own name directly on the petition and must not sign for anyone else. If a petitioner cannot sign because of illness or a disability, this must be noted on the petition and the note signed by a witness.

At least three signatures with addresses must appear on the very first sheet with the text of the petition. Signatures and addresses may appear on the reverse sides of pages.

The address may consist of at least one of the following:

  • the signatory’s full home address; or
  • the signatory’s city and province; or
  • the signatory’s province and postal code.

As with the signature, the address must be written directly on the document. Additional contact information (such as telephone numbers or e-mail addresses) is not required.

A Member of the House of Commons may sign a petition, but in that case he or she must ask another Member to present that petition in the House. The signatures of Members are not counted towards the required minimum of 25 signatures.

Draft Petitions

Members of the public who wish to petition the House of Commons on a matter of public interest should first submit a draft of the petition (without signatures) to a Member of Parliament to see whether it is correctly worded and to determine whether the Member will agree to present it.

Presenting Paper Petitions

Certification

Once a paper petition has been signed and sent to the Member who intends to present it, the Member must send it to the Clerk of Petitions to certify that it is acceptable as to form and content. A petition submitted for certification which does not meet the requirements will be returned to the Member with an explanation.

Presentation of a Petition

A Member may be asked to present a petition even if he or she does not represent the petitioner’s electoral district. A Member who has been asked to present a petition in the House will normally do so, but is not obliged to and may ask another colleague to present it. In accepting to present a petition, a Member is not necessarily agreeing with the opinions or request set out in the petition.

A Member may present a certified petition in the House on any sitting day during Routine Proceedings or at any time during a sitting of the House by filing it with a Clerk at the Table in the Chamber. In both cases, a record of the petition appears in the Journals for that day.

Government Responses to Petitions

The Standing Orders require the government to respond within 45 calendar days to every petition submitted to it. Each petition receives an individual government response. Any Member who has presented a petition is provided with a copy of the response shortly after it is tabled.

In the event that the government fails to respond to a petition within 45 calendar days, the matter of the government’s failure to respond is automatically referred to the standing committee designated by the Member presenting the petition. Within five sitting days of such a referral, the Chair of the committee must convene a meeting to consider the matter.

At prorogation (the period of time between two sessions of a Parliament), any outstanding government responses to petitions presented in the previous session must be tabled in the subsequent session. On the other hand, the dissolution of Parliament (the end of a Parliament triggering a general election) ends any requirement for the government to respond to a petition.

For further information:

Clerk of Petitions
Room 131-N, Centre Block
House of Commons
Tel: 613-992-9511
Fax 613-947-7626
E-mail pmb-aed@parl.gc.ca

November 2015

Appendix A — Sample Template of an Acceptable Petition

First page of the petition
PETITION TO Select one: the House of Commons, the House of Commons in Parliament assembled, the Government of Canada, (name of a Minister of the Crown), or (name of a Member of Parliament)
We, the undersigned Here identify the petitioners in general terms. For example:
  • citizens (or residents) of Canada
  • electors of (name of electoral district)
  • residents of the Province of ...
  • residents of the City (or Village, or Township, etc.) of ...
  This section, the “grievance”, is optional:
draw the attention of Select one: the House of Commons, the House of Commons in Parliament assembled, the Government of Canada, (name of a Minister of the Crown), or (name of a Member of Parliament)
to the following:
THAT
Here state briefly the reasons underlying your request by summarizing the facts which you wish the addressee to consider. It is customary, though not obligatory, for each statement of fact in this section to begin with the word “Whereas”.
THEREFORE, your petitioners
request or call upon Select one: the House of Commons, the House of Commons in Parliament assembled, the Government of Canada, (name of a Minister of the Crown), or (name of a Member of Parliament)
to Here set out the request by stating succinctly what action you wish the addressee to take or refrain from taking.
Signatures
(Sign your own name. Do not print.)
Addresses
(Full home address, or city and province, or province and postal code.)








Subsequent pages of the petition
Your petitioners Here repeat the request from the first page of the petition.
Signatures
(Sign your own name. Do not print.)
Addresses
(Full home address, or city and province, or province and postal code.)
























Disclaimer regarding e-petitions

Skip to main content

PÉTITIONS SUR SUPPORT PAPIER – GUIDE POUR LE PUBLIC

Chaque pétition commence par une idée et franchit différentes étapes avant d’être signée et présentée à la Chambre des communes en vue d’obtenir une réponse du gouvernement. Si vous avez une idée pour une pétition sur un sujet qui vous tient à cœur, le présent guide vous aidera à débuter et à franchir les différentes étapes avant de soumettre une pétition sur support papier.

Qu’est-ce qu’une pétition?

Une pétition sert à attirer l’attention sur une question ou une préoccupation d’intérêt public et à demander à la Chambre des communes, au gouvernement du Canada, à un ministre fédéral ou à un député de prendre certaines mesures.

Un pétitionnaire ne peut pas présenter sa pétition directement à la Chambre des communes; seul un député peut le faire. Un pétitionnaire doit obtenir l’aide d’un député pour présenter sa pétition à la Chambre.

Une pétition doit également répondre à certains critères fixés par les règles et les pratiques de la Chambre. Le greffier des pétitions a la responsabilité de certifier que ces exigences sont respectées.

Le présent guide porte sur le processus de création et de soumission d’une pétition sur support papier. Dans le cas des pétitions électroniques, veuillez consulter le guide intitulé Pétitions électroniques – Guide pour la création et la soumission d’une pétition.

Création d’une pétition — Forme et teneur

On trouvera à la fin de ce document un modèle proposé de pétition sur support papier à la Chambre des communes qui respecte les exigences exposées ci dessous (voir l’Annexe A — Modèle de pétition recevable).

Destinataire

La pétition doit être adressée à l’un des destinataires suivants :

  • « la Chambre des communes » ou « la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement »;
  • « le gouvernement du Canada »;
  • un ministre; ou
  • un député à la Chambre des communes.

Texte

Le texte d’une pétition consiste essentiellement en une requête faite au destinataire, à qui l’on demande de prendre ou d’éviter de prendre des mesures concrètes afin de résoudre un grief.

La pétition peut comporter une description détaillée du grief ou l’énoncé d’une opinion, mais ceux ci ne constituent pas une pétition et ne sont pas recevables en soi; elle doit comprendre une demande précise, laquelle doit être claire et succincte, et formulée comme une demande, Le pétitionnaire ne doit pas exiger ni insister que le destinataire fasse telle ou telle chose.

Lorsque la pétition comporte plus d’une feuille de signatures et d’adresses, chacune des pages doit contenir la requête ou une indication de l’objet de la pétition.

Sujet de la pétition

Questions de compétence fédérale

La pétition doit porter sur un sujet qui soit de la compétence du Parlement du Canada, de la Chambre des communes ou du gouvernement du Canada. Elle ne doit pas porter sur une question de compétence purement provinciale ou municipale.

Convention relative aux affaires devant les tribunaux

La pétition ne peut pas concerner une affaire en instance, c’est à dire une affaire qui se trouve devant les tribunaux.

Langue

La pétition doit être libellée en termes respectueux et modérés et ne pas comporter de termes inconvenants ou antiparlementaires. Elle ne doit surtout pas contenir de mots irrévérencieux ou qui peuvent manquer de respect au souverain, au Parlement ou aux tribunaux. Elle ne doit pas porter d’accusation mettant en cause la moralité ou la conduite du Parlement, des tribunaux ou d’une autre autorité dûment constituée. La pétition doit être rédigée en français ou en anglais.

Manuscrite, dactylographiée ou imprimée sur du papier de grandeur normale

Le texte de la pétition doit être manuscrit, dactylographié, imprimé ou photocopié sur des feuilles de papier de grandeur normale, c. à d. mesurant 21,5 cm sur 28 cm (8½ sur 11 pouces) ou 21,5 cm sur 35,5 cm (8½ sur 14 pouces). La pétition soumise sur du papier d’un format inusité ou sur autre chose que du papier n’est pas recevable.

Ratures ou rajouts interlinéaires

Il ne faut pas altérer le texte de la pétition en effaçant ou en raturant des mots ou en y ajoutant des mots ou des commentaires. Toute altération de ce genre rend la pétition irrecevable.

Pièces jointes, annexes ou pièces jointes sans rapport

La pétition sur support papier doit être soumise sans pièce jointe ni annexe et sans qu’un autre texte y soit écrit ou imprimé, par exemple, de documents supplémentaires, de cartes, d’images, de logos, d’articles de journaux, d’exposés de motifs, de pièces justificatives ou de demandes d’appui. La pétition imprimée au verso d’un document n’est pas recevable.

Signatures et adresses

La pétition sur support papier doit porter au moins 25 signatures valides accompagnées d’adresses. Les signatures de non citoyens ne résidant pas au Canada ne sont pas comptées. Si vous prévoyez que votre pétition sortira des frontières canadiennes, veillez à ce que les signataires sachent qu’ils ne peuvent signer que s’ils sont résidents canadiens ou citoyens canadiens résidant à l’étranger.

Il n’y a pas d’âge minimum pour signer une pétition.

Les signatures figurant sur la pétition doivent être originales et être écrites directement sur le document, et non y être maintenues par de la colle ou du ruban adhésif, y être photocopiées ou y être reproduites par d’autres moyens.

Chaque pétitionnaire doit signer son nom – et non l’écrire en lettres moulées – directement sur la pétition et ne doit signer pour nul autre. Si un pétitionnaire ne peut signer son nom lui même en raison d’une maladie ou d’un handicap, la chose doit être signalée dans une note sur la pétition et la note doit être signée par un témoin.

Sur la toute première feuille, qui renferme le texte de la pétition, doivent également figurer au moins trois signatures accompagnées des adresses des signataires. D’autres signatures et adresses peuvent apparaître au verso de la pétition.

Les adresses doivent être composées d’au moins un des éléments suivants :

  • l'adresse postale complète du signataire;
  • la ville et la province du signataire;
  • la province et le code postal du signataire.

Comme dans le cas de la signature, l’adresse doit être inscrite directement sur le document. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’y ajouter d’autres coordonnées, comme un numéro de téléphone ou une adresse de courriel.

Un député peut signer une pétition, mais celle ci doit alors être présentée à la Chambre par un autre député. Les signatures des députés ne peuvent pas faire partie des 25 signatures exigées au minimum.

Ébauche de pétition

Quiconque souhaite présenter une pétition à la Chambre des communes sur une question d’intérêt public devrait en soumettre une ébauche (sans les signatures) à un député afin de savoir si elle est recevable quant à la forme et au contenu et si le député accepte de la présenter.

Présentation d’une pétition sur support papier

Certification

Une fois que la pétition sur support papier a été signée et remise au député qui compte la présenter, le député doit la transmettre au greffier des pétitions pour qu’elle soit certifiée correcte quant à la forme et à la teneur. La pétition qui n’est pas conforme aux exigences est retournée au député, accompagnée d’une note explicative.

Présentation d’une pétition

N’importe quel député peut être invité à présenter une pétition, même s’il ne représente pas la circonscription électorale du pétitionnaire. Le député à qui l’on demande de présenter une pétition à la Chambre le fera habituellement, mais il n’est pas obligé de le faire et il peut demander à un collègue de la présenter à sa place. En acceptant de présenter une pétition, un député ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’il est d’accord avec les opinions ou la requête exprimée dans la pétition.

Les députés peuvent présenter une pétition certifiée n’importe quel jour de séance, pendant les affaires courantes, ou à n’importe quel moment durant une séance de la Chambre en la déposant auprès d’un greffier au Bureau. Dans les deux cas, la présentation de la pétition est notée dans les Journaux de la journée.

Réponses du gouvernement à la pétition

Selon le Règlement de la Chambre des communes, lorsqu’une pétition est présentée, le gouvernement doit déposer une réponse à la Chambre dans les 45 jours civils suivants. Le gouvernement répond à chaque pétition individuellement. Tout député qui a présenté une pétition reçoit copie de la réponse peu après son dépôt à la Chambre.

Dans l’éventualité où le gouvernement ne répondrait pas à une pétition dans les 45 jours civils prévus, la question de l’absence de réponse à une pétition est automatiquement renvoyée au comité permanent désigné par le député qui l’a présentée. Dans les cinq jours de séance suivant le renvoi, le président du comité doit convoquer une réunion pour examiner la question.

S’il y a prorogation (période de temps qui s’écoule entre deux sessions d’une même législature) avant que le gouvernement n’ait répondu à une pétition, celui ci demeure tenu d’y répondre au cours de la session suivante. Par contre, le gouvernement n’a plus cette obligation à la dissolution du Parlement (laquelle met fin à la législature et entraîne le déclenchement d’une élection générale).

Renseignements :

Greffier des pétitions
Édifice du Centre, pièce 131-N
Chambre des communes
Tél. : 613-992-9511
Téléc. : 613-947-7626
Adresse courriel : pmb-aed@parl.gc.ca

Novembre 2015

Annexe A — Modèle de pétition recevable

Première page de la pétition
PÉTITION À (AU) Choisissez soit : la Chambre des communes, la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement, le gouvernement du Canada, (nom d’un ministre), ou (nom d’un député à la Chambre des communes)
Nous, soussignés, Ici, identifiez en termes généraux qui sont les pétitionnaires, par exemple :
  • des citoyens (ou des résidents) du Canada
  • des électeurs de (nom de la circonscription électorale)
  • des résidents de la province de (du)...
  • des résidents de la ville (ou du village, du canton, etc.) de...
  Cette section, qui expose le « grief », est facultative :
désirons porter à l’attention Choisissez soit : de la Chambre des communes, de la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement, du gouvernement du Canada, de (nom d’un ministre), ou de (nom d’un député à la Chambre des communes)
QUE Ici, précisez brièvement les raisons pour lesquelles vous présentez une requête en résumant les faits que vous souhaitez porter à l’attention du destinataire. Traditionnellement, chaque énoncé de fait dans cette section commence par « Attendu que ». Cette formulation n’est toutefois pas obligatoire.
PAR CONSÉQUENT, les pétitionnaires
demandent à (au) ou prient Choisissez soit : la Chambre des communes, la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement, le gouvernement du Canada, (nom d’un ministre), ou (nom d’un député à la Chambre des communes)
de Ici, énoncez brièvement la requête en faisant ressortir l’action que vous demandez au destinataire de prendre ou de ne pas prendre
Signatures
(Signez votre nom. Ne pas écrire en lettres moulées.)
Adresses
(Adresse postale complète ou ville et province ou province et code postal.)








Pages suivantes de la pétition
Les pétitionnaires Répétez ici la requête énoncée à la première page de la pétition.
Signatures
(Signez votre nom. Ne pas écrire en lettres moulées.)
Adresses
(Adresse postale complète ou ville et province ou province et code postal.)
























Avis relatif aux pétitions électroniques